There are many reasons why you might need a copy of the police report from an auto accident. For example, you will need to provide the car accident report it to your personal injury attorney if you want to make a car accident claim. Your car insurance company will also want a copy of the report.
First, you will need to determine which law enforcement agency investigated the accident. Each agency will have a slightly difference process for obtaining the report. The Arizona Department of Public Records maintains copies of accidents and collisions that occurred on Interstate and State highways and were investigated by DPS troopers.
If your accident was not investigated by DPS, you will need to contact the law enforcement agency of the county or local jurisdiction where the accident occurred in order to obtain the appropriate records. This blog post will look at the procedures for obtaining car accident reports from DPS, as well as Phoenix and Tucson Law Enforcement.
Arizona Department of Public Records
At the moment, it is not possible to request a copy of the report online from DPS. Individuals requesting their report are required to fill out this form with their contact information.
Before filling out the form, it is recommended that you call the Department Records Section at (602) 223-2230. This way, you can ask someone at the police department about what documents are available so you can place your order.
You can choose a variety of methods to receive the report. DPS will charge the following fees, depending on how you want the information:
- Paper report via U.S. Mail – $9.00 for the first nine pages; $0.10 for each additional page (Request must be accompanied by a stamped, self-addressed envelope)
- Report via email – $9.00 (up to 5 MB)
- Paper report via fax – $9.00 (20 page limit)
- Report on a compact disc (CD) – $10.00 (up to 700 MB)
- Printed Photo (each 8×10) – $4.00
- Photo Contact Sheets – $10.00
- Photographs on Single DVD – $15.00
The mailing address is:
Arizona Department of Public Safety
Department Records Section
P.O. Box 6638, Mail Drop 3111 Phoenix, Arizona 85005-6638
Alternatively, you can bring it to the Department Records Section, which is located at:
2222 West Encanto Boulevard
Phoenix, Arizona 85009
If you make the request in person, you can pay with a credit or debit card or cash. If you mail in the form, you can use a business or cashier’s check or a money order. Personal checks are never accepted.
Reports from DPS will be completed within 14 days of the incident.
Phoenix Accident Report
The city of Phoenix has a more up-to-date system of obtaining reports. You can get the report online at this link if you have the incident number and the last name of someone involved in the accident.
Alternatively, you can obtain copies of an accident report by filling out this form and providing as much detail as possible. You must also include a reason for the request.
The following fees will apply:
- Audio Tapes – $ 2.75
- Fingerprints – $ 6.00
- Letters of Clearance with arrest record – $28.00
- Letters of Clearance without arrest record – $ 8.50
- Photo Image CD – $ 4.00
- Police Reports – $ 0.24 per page (Laserprint and Photocopy)
- Video Tapes – $29.00
- 4X6 Photographs – $ 0.50 per photograph
- 911 CD – $16.50
When requesting records, you are required to include a phone number or email address, so you can be informed of the total cost of your request.
You can email the form to email@example.com, fax it to (602) 534-4599, or mail it to:
CITY OF PHOENIX POLICE DEPARTMENT
CODE ENFORCEMENT UNIT
1717 E. GRANT ST., SUITE 100
PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85034-3401
If you have any questions about the form, you can call the Phoenix Public Records Unit at 602-534-1127.
Note: it is illegal to obtain records if you do not have a relationship between someone involved in the accident.
Tucson Accident Report
If the accident occurred in Tucson, you can obtain the record online at this site. You will need the name of a party involved, the date of the incident, and the report number.
You can also request reports by downloading a form in English or Spanish from this site.
You can either bring or mail the form to this address:
Tucson Police Department
270 South Stone Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85701
All public records cost $5 for the first 15 pages and cost $0.25 per page for each additional page.
If you make the request by mail, you will need to include your name, address, telephone number, a self-addressed stamped envelope and payment in the form of personal check or money order made payable to “The City of Tucson.”
Report requests will be processed within 5-10 business days.